top of page

Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

ADHD stands for Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder. It's a neurodevelopmental disorder that typically begins in childhood and can persist into adulthood. People with ADHD often have difficulty paying attention, controlling impulsive behaviors, and may be overly active.

There are three subtypes of ADHD:

  1. Predominantly Inattentive Presentation: Individuals with this subtype primarily struggle with attention and may seem forgetful, easily distracted, and disorganized.

  2. Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive Presentation: Individuals with this subtype primarily struggle with hyperactivity and impulsivity. They may fidget, talk excessively, and have difficulty waiting their turn.

  3. Combined Presentation: Individuals with this subtype exhibit symptoms of both inattention and hyperactivity-impulsivity.


ADHD can have significant impacts on various aspects of life, including academic performance, work, relationships, and daily functioning. However, with proper diagnosis and management strategies, such as behavioral therapy, medication, and support from educators and family, individuals with ADHD can lead fulfilling lives.


Learning Disorders 

Learning disorders, also known as learning disabilities, are neurodevelopmental conditions that affect a person's ability to acquire, process, retain, or express information. These disorders can impact various processes such as reading, writing, mathematics, reasoning, listening, speaking, or organizing information. Learning disorders are typically diagnosed during childhood, although they can persist into adulthood.  Important note, In the DSM 5 TR, the term “specific learning disorder” is used in place of “dyslexia,” “dysgraphia,” and “dyscalculia.”  DSM-5 considers SLD to be a type of Neurodevelopmental Disorder that impedes the ability to learn or use specific academic skills (e.g., reading, writing, or arithmetic), which are the foundation for other academic learning. The learning difficulties are ‘unexpected’ in that other aspects of development seem to be fine.

There are several types of learning disorders, including:

  1. Specific Learning Disorder with impairment in reading: Affects reading skills, including difficulty with decoding, word recognition, spelling, and comprehension.

  2. Specific Learning Disorder with impairment in math: Impairs mathematical abilities, making it challenging to understand numbers, perform calculations, and grasp mathematical concepts.

  3. Specific Learning Disorder with impairment in written expression: Affects writing skills, causing difficulties with handwriting, spelling, and organizing thoughts on paper.

These disorders can vary widely in severity and can co-occur with other conditions such as attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), anxiety, or depression. Individuals with these conditions can benefit from early intervention, specialized education strategies, accommodations, and support services to help them manage their challenges and reach their full potential.


Intellectual Developmental Disorder (IDD)

Intellectual Developmental Disorder (IDD), formerly known as mental retardation, is a neurodevelopmental disorder characterized by limitations in intellectual functioning and adaptive behavior. These limitations manifest during the developmental period, which includes childhood and adolescence. Intellectual functioning involves abilities such as reasoning, problem-solving, and understanding abstract concepts. Adaptive behavior refers to the skills necessary for independent daily living, such as communication, self-care, social interaction, and functional academics.

IDD encompasses a wide range of severity, from mild to profound, and can be caused by various factors, including genetic conditions, prenatal exposure to toxins or infections, complications during birth, or environmental factors. The diagnosis of IDD involves comprehensive assessment, including standardized testing of intellectual and adaptive functioning.

Support and intervention strategies for individuals with IDD aim to maximize their potential for independent functioning and improve their quality of life. These may include educational programs, behavioral therapies, vocational training, and assistance with daily living activities. Additionally, early detection and intervention are crucial for optimizing outcomes for individuals with IDD.


Cognitive and Achievement Functioning 

Cognitive and achievement assessments are types of evaluations used in psychology and education to measure different aspects of an individual's abilities and performance.

  1. Cognitive Assessment: Cognitive assessments evaluate a person's intellectual abilities, including memory, attention, reasoning, problem-solving, and language skills. These assessments aim to understand how individuals process information and solve problems. They are often used to diagnose learning disabilities, intellectual disabilities, and cognitive impairments. 

  2. Achievement Assessment: Achievement assessments measure an individual's knowledge and skills in specific academic areas, such as reading, writing, and mathematics. These assessments are used to determine a person's level of proficiency or mastery in various subjects and to monitor academic progress over time. 


Both types of assessments play crucial roles in understanding individuals' abilities, identifying strengths and weaknesses, guiding educational interventions, and making informed decisions about educational and psychological interventions.


Emotional Functioning

Emotional assessments are designed to evaluate an individual's emotional functioning, including their ability to recognize, understand, express, and regulate emotions. These assessments can be valuable in various contexts, such as clinical practice, research, education, and organizational settings. Here are some common components or types of emotional assessments:

  1. Mood and Anxiety (including test taking and performance anxiety) Inventories: Mood and anxiety inventories assess an individual's current emotional state, including the presence and intensity of specific emotions such as sadness, anxiety, anger, or happiness. These assessments may involve rating scales, checklists, and/or structured interviews.

  2. Trauma and Stressor-related Assessments: These assessments focus on evaluating the impact of traumatic events or chronic stressors on an individual's emotional well-being. They may assess symptoms of post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), acute stress disorder, or other trauma-related conditions.

  3. Personality Inventories: Some personality inventories include scales or subscales that assess emotional traits and tendencies, such as emotional stability, neuroticism, empathy, and agreeableness.

  4. Coping Style Inventories: These assessments measure an individual's typical coping strategies and mechanisms for managing stress, adversity, and emotional challenges. They can provide insights into adaptive and maladaptive coping patterns.

These various types of emotional assessments offer valuable insights into an individual's emotional well-being, interpersonal relationships, coping strategies, and overall psychological functioning. They play a crucial role in guiding interventions, treatment planning, and support services aimed at promoting emotional health and resilience.

Get in Touch

Austin Psychological & Testing Center, LLP

Specializing in Psychological Assessments 
    for ages 5 plus
bottom of page